A Bird Under the Wire

Standard

 It started with a beautiful piece of fabric, generously donated by the prttynpnk one and creatively named the Blue Cranes of Doom.    

See what Anne did with it at http://prttynpnk.com/2014/04/17/blue-cranes-of-doom-x2/

I didn’t quite know how to do this preciousness justice, until the April challenge over at The Monthly Stitch.   

 Put A Bird On It?  Don’t mind if I do.  

So out of my stash jumped this pretty 

McCalls 6552, from the Fashion Star line.  I didn’t have enough fabric for that crazy length, so I knew I’d be doing some modifying, but I really ended up really running with it.  Kept the kimono sleeves, made the top a mock wrap rather than a deep V,  gave it a waist using some extra border material.  Fun fun.  Here I am narrow hemming, which I find strangely soothing.    

  

Looking like it’s going to fit.  It’s also the best pic I ended up taking of the arms.  One big blue crane per limb!!

Finished product, with gorgeous backdrop courtesy of some dear dear friends and their wonderful garden:

Casey the cat is totally smiling with me in this shot!

Ran out of poses, so I decided to hula (or something). 

   

What’s a sewing post without a little back fat? I love that there was enough of the bird repeat to get some on the front and the rear. 

What a fun project, that I hope to actually post on The Monthly Stitch soon, if I can get the particulars worked out.  It’s bad enough that I waited until the last minute to photo and blog (hence the Under the Wire title).  Sorry, Monthly Stitchers, you deserve better than my procrastination. 

In the meantime, Me-Made-May ’15 is starting as we speak.  So very exciting!!!  I won’t sleep for a month!

Happy Stitching and MMM-ing. 

Shelley

3 responses »

    • Thanks for checking in, oh Savory one. I’m fine. Just a combination of feeling I have nothing creatively to bring to the (sewing) table. Also, I don’t want to make new clothes for the body I currently have. Also, I already have too many clothes and am too selfish a sewist to be inspired to sew for others. The fabric and patterns and Craftsy classes tempt me constantly though, and I’m sure my boyfriend wishes I’d pick it back up so I’m too busy to nag him about how little time we spend together. 😉 Truly, thank you. I’ll be baaaahhhhk eventually.

Leave a Reply

