Back to the Jungle

Standard

This is how I pictured I would look during Jungle January

20130128-095304.jpg

And this is the reality
20130128-100407.jpg

Because the fabric I had originally intended to use was more flora than fauna, and I didn’t have enough shiny blue-green zebra to make a dress.

Animal print lover that I am, I just wasn’t happy with my contribution. Our fearless jungle guide Anne deserves better than that. Since fortunately(!!) I didn’t do anything foolish like make a stashbusting pledge I was able to visit my favorite website Fabric Mart and try out some scrumptious animal ITY knit.

It’s the same pattern as my first FO of the year, a McCalls 5974, which I adore. I learned from a few previous fitting issues and extended the bodice, so now it’s more normal-to-drop waist than empire. I absolutely lurve it. I also lengthened the length (hope you can keep up with my technical terms) to make it more wintery and flowy, and also managed not to hack up the sleeves.

20130128-103514.jpg

I got to wear it to a party over the weekend, where more than one person said I look “like a singer”, which I totally took as a compliment.

20130128-111339.jpg

I definitely have a new TNT on my hands, and lots of knits to play with. Maybe I’ll even make a version with the ties, or try a different sleeve length or neckline. The possibilities are endless. You really have to get this pattern.

So while I’m no Velosewer, who has made about 87 wild and gorgeous jungle garments, I’m very happy that I forged my way into the wild one more time before the end of the month.

Thanks a million, Anne, for hosting this epic month of creativity.

This roar’s for you!!

20130128-114015.jpg

21 responses »

  1. Dear Cuckoo or Cuckoo Dear, You and your rrroarrrs are fab. Love the fabrics and designs you create with. I am soo impressed with your gumshun…you actually finish the projects you start, and those same day bolt to body beauts are awesome! You are an inspiration dahling!

  2. This dress and fabric looks great on you! I have this pattern and and used it… it’s definitely a great pattern. I didn’t add the ties either but might do next time I make it up as yours looks great with the longer sleeves. I also added some extra length as well. Looking forward to seeing you next version of it 🙂

  3. You know how I like your hemlines hitting the right place to show your awesome legs but not too much…well, I might have change my mind because this lenght looks also very good on you. Lovely!

  4. LOL you are hilarious. The dress is stunning btw, looks amazing with boots! Jungle January also made me realize I really, really, really need a leopard print skirt. Colette Ginger maybe?

  5. Pingback: Another Saber-toothed Sunday at the Spotted Carpet! « Pretty Grievances

Leave a Reply

