A Peony In A Day. And A Peony From Yester-day

Standard

I got a wild hair to make a dress in one day. No real reason, just a mini goal I set for myself, something fresh to wear to a Lenny gig on Saturday night. I wanted to do something with the charmeuse that my failing memory had sworn was zebra print but was instead sort of a huge jagged flower (It may even be a peony!). You’ll see the print–you figure it out.

The Peony muslin I made back in October had a nice fit and I wore it a ton, so, pattern pieces at the ready, off I went cutting my charmeuse. Everything went smoothly, except for breaking the zipper (I’ll spare you the gory details of that idiocy.), which required installation of a whole new one. This move lost me almost an inch of fabric that I didn’t have to spare, because heaven forbid I seam rip. I just cut the old zipper out.

The thing about this fabric is that is has no give. I forgot that the cotton I used for the muslin was sort of stretchy, so this new dress that I thought would be an identical fit just wasn’t. (The zipper debacle didn’t help either.) I do like that I lengthened the sleeves from 3/4 to full length, but I seriously need to do an FBA on this puppy.

DSC_2432
I love my ivy.
DSC_2436
DSC_2445Showing off the bateau neck.
DSC_2452

I did make it to the gig, barely, so I actually wore it in public, but it really isn’t too flattering. Although it actually looks okay in these photos, I probably won’t wear it out much without a cardi or blazer.

While I’m at it, here’s the Peony muslin that I wore the heck out of this fall but never photographed.

DSC_2464
Showing off the pockets, but ended up showing off too much. I am a lady, I am.
DSC_2467
New hat!
DSC_2468

Overall, not a waste of a day. And guess what, I made a whole ‘nother dress on Sunday. Hint: grrr, rrreeerrrr, roar. To be continued…

Bonus!!! I made the Dr. Brian and Friends cover photo!! In my new dress!
Like ’em on Facebook (My Lenny is in the orange hat)
Dr. Brian and Friends

22 responses »

  1. I love it! There is such a sense of accomplishment when you finish a dress. And I bet with the goal of finishing in one day, it keeps you focused. They are both great but I really love how casual the floral one looks on you!

  2. Both are sooo pretty! I really love the red floral one, I was actually just planning to make a red peony this week too. I think I’ll include the sleeves on mine since yours look so good 🙂

    • Thanks, Anne!! I’m enjoying my growing Peony garden. Can’t wait to reveal my Sunday make. I seriously need a photographer on call. Lenny is way too busy for my liking these days. I need to train the cats or something.

  3. I love both of them! I had the hardest time with this pattern, I’m glad it worked for someone. Also, and hopefully this doesn’t come across as to creep-tastic, you have great legs!

    • Thanks so much for the nice compliment!!! Not creepy at all. You’re so sweet. I absolutely love your creations and your beautiful photographs, so your feedback means a lot. There are definitely quirks here and there with the fitting of this pattern, but overall it’s tweakable and simple and pretty. A keeper for sure.

    • Thanks. It’s a good, solid pattern. I love that it has front and back darts. Gives it a nice shape. I can see myself trying it in a few more fabrics before I file it away. Definitely give it a go.

  4. Pingback: Back to the Jungle « Cuckoo Chanel

Leave a Reply

