Tiramisu. So Sweet

Standard

Another fun sewalong is over, and I have to say it was a great experience. I love the 30 minutes a day concept. The other dresses are SOOOOOO gorgeous. If for some reason you’ve been out of this loop of awesomeness, definitely check out the Flickr group, and show ’em some love. StephC has been really involved in this whole process, and that’s extremely refreshing, helpful, and fun. I also like her policy on not trashing your own body in photos.

Quote from Sewing Cake:

“I run a zero tolerance policy towards negative body speech in classes, which applies here. Please do not say anything about your body that is unkind or hurtful- your body is the vessel that carries you through life.”

Probably won’t stop me from berating myself for living on pizza and ice cream, but I’ll try to go easier on myself from now on.

Construction was easy squeezy. Again, this is an excellent pattern. I used a happy orange with blue floral jersey knit; and, as with many happy sewing accidents, since I didn’t have enough of the orange I used a matching blue jersey knit for midriff and contrast. (I must give props to Disparate Disciplines for the midriff inspiration. Her Tira is amazing in every way.) I adore this look, and the darker midriff is pretty flattering. Very happy with it.

And, by the way, Gillian is KILLING it over at Crafting A Rainbow. Her versions are gorgeous.

I don’t remember having any actual problems with the process. I cut a 40D (in Cake sizing), and used the cool midriff cutting method which involves the dress size and your waist size (it makes sense when you do it, and is so logical and easy). Awesome. Attaching the bindings went smoothly. Hooray for that miracle.

On to photos. Well, once again I finished a dress in time for a sewalong but couldn’t get a photo shoot together. I was thinking that the parade is on Monday, but then I realized it’s already Monday in Sewing Cake Land. Damn you southern hemispherers with your warm weather and crazy time zone. πŸ™‚ Oh well. Day late and a dollar short.

Here we go, and bear in mind that the color is drastically different in every picture. Sunlight, sometimes-flash, different angles, just crazy contrasts. I hope at least a few captured the colors, because I just adore this print.

Best representation of the true colors.

Best representation of the true colors.

Tiramisu--Side view

Reminds me of the Monty Python sketch:  "Here's Uncle Ted at the front of the house.  Here's Uncle Ted at the back of the house..."

Reminds me of the Monty Python sketch: “Here’s Uncle Ted at the front of the house. Here’s Uncle Ted at the back of the house…”

Tiramisu--one more shot

So yeah, I love it. Glad it’s warm enough to wear today, because it’s gonna be crazy cold by the end of the week. Good news is, I’m kidnapping Lenny for a Florida road trip soon to visit my dad, where I will get to wear this, my Cambie(!), my new Jungle January zebra shirt, etc. Whee.

As always, Happy Sewing!!
Hugs
Shel

Update:
Tiramisu has proven quite the staple for me in 2013. Here are some photos from a recent trip to San Francisco. These were taken at the lovely Charles Schulz Museum in Santa Clara.

20131031-092340.jpg

20131031-092430.jpg

31 responses »

  1. Great dress! The contrast midriff and trim really set off the patterned fabric – nice choice of colour combinations. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kat! It was all total luck, a happy sewing accident where insufficient main fabric led to a really cool contrast find. I’ve loved that orange/blue floral since finding it on eBay last year, and finally found the perfect project for it.

    • You will do fine with jersey. It’s really not hard. One of the first dresses I made was out of it and it worked out fine. Really it’s no problem, I promise. You’ve made beautiful things. Jersey would be a piece of cake for you. Happy sewing!

  2. Oh, I love your dress. It is so flattering and I love the contrast midriff. This one should be a dress you wear again and again (and a pattern you use again and again0! Bravo!

    • Thank you. I will definitely wear it a lot. But unfortunately not until March or so, unless I can find the perfect cardigan for it. Will definitely try the pattern again. May try the long sleeve hack. A lot of good versions out there.

    • Thanks so much. I love anything that makes me look like I actually have a waist. πŸ™‚ The midriff on the one Disparate Disciplines made has ice cream cones on it. That would have just been sad on me.

  3. Love your dress and you are so right about this pattern and the style is really flattering and looks great on you and the sew-along was wonderful. We got to see so many versions and got to meet some great new sewing friends along the way. There’s not many patterns you can buy where you get all of this rolled into one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

