Rrrrrreeeeeerrrrr — With Shelley Hesson

Standard

Jungle January conjures up so many images and inspirations, but for some reason it makes me think of that great segment on The Soup:

(Meow) with Brian Williams

So here’s my take on it:

With Shelley Hesson

With Shelley Hesson

I had originally planned on making something out of a purple zebra stripe satin that I had, but it ended up not being zebra at all. It was more geometric. I could still whip something up with it and have my own offshoot, Jeometric January, but for now I’m more than satisfied with this happy little New Look 6483 top, View E, out of green zebra satin. I love the shininess of it, the neckline
New Look 6483 neckline
(note the slight scratch, from my overenthusiastic jungle cat, Teddy)

and the accessorizability

Had to add some animals to the jungle

Had to add some animals to the jungle

And some Jungle Red toes

And some Jungle Red toes

The best side effect of such a fun top is that it totally motivated me to finish a pair of Clovers that have been literally hanging around for at least a month, draped over my chin up/pull up bar that I never use.

I love the nice clean waistband, and the always-clear Colette instructions on how to make it look professional.
Colette Clover waist(aka, my ‘before’ picture)

And I’m way happy with the butt fit.
Clover butt

and my cheeky blue pockets
Blue Clover pockets
and the side zip
Side zipper Clover

I will be wearing these pants a LOT!

Still so much to catch up on, including a few Christmas (really??!!) notes, possible goals for 2013, late-2012 FOs that are still hanging out, all the fun going on over at Twitter, etc.; and I will enjoy every moment typing away. One thing I will soon officially acknowledge is a triple award from the lovely Catja at Gjeometry. Thank you, dear. And to anyone who has bestowed me with awards in the past, please forgive me for not properly acknowledging your kindness. I had been all Groucho Marx about these awards
Groucho but I guess that’s just silly.

Here’s another rrreeeerrrr for the road:

Keep on growlin'

Keep on growlin’

20130103-181111.jpg

18 responses »

  1. I’m loving the pocket lining of those pants. I just bought plain black for a pair i’m going to attempt to make. Seems so boring now.

    And you are very welcome for your triple nominations. Enjoy your awards! I look forward to the โ€œofficialโ€ acknowledgement. Will there be trumpets, signed affidavits and, ooooh, maybe a parade? ๐Ÿ™‚ Parades are fun! Lol. Mostly, I just wanted to spread the love of folks who nominated me for awards and keep it going by reaching out to people and let them know how much I appreciate their blogs and being able to be here in this wonderful blogging and sewing community ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Lions and Tigers and Ruth, oh my! « Pretty Grievances

  3. haha I have an unused pull up bar too. I had to take mine down thought cuz I’d forget about it being there and try to close my door and the dang thing would fall on my head. OUCH! I love zebra print and green zebra print is all the more awesome!

  4. ohhh, these pants look great! I just finished up mine, but I have to take photos! Sometimes that photo taking stuff just seems like a lot of work (much more than actually making the pants)… haha. I agree that the instructions for the pants were awesome- they were my first pants and i only messed up a handful of times.

    • Yeah, Clovers are a great starter pant. Or we just got lucky. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on yours. Looking forward to the photos. Speaking of photos, I hear you on that one–took forever to get shots that I liked!! Need more daylight! And a less busy boyfriend/photographer.

  5. Your clovers are fab shelley! They’re a great fit. I am more of a pear shape so hopefully I won’t have too many fitting issues. I think I’ll make a pair in a dark blue although black is so versatile but I already have a great fitting pair that I bought a few months ago so blue it is ๐Ÿ™‚ Loe the top too

    • Thanks, Stephanie! Enjoy your blue Clovers. I’m sure they’ll work great for a pear shape. Can’t wait to see what you come up with. Enjoy ALLL of your sewing plans. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

