Tim Gunn, anyone? How about Gertie?

Standard

Image

 

Hey all,

Million things going on here in the nest, but just wanted to reach out and ask if there’s anyone in my little blogosphere who lives in the New Jersey/Philly/NYC area who is planning on or would be interested in going to the Tim Gunn book signing this Monday the 10th at Bookends in Ridgewood, NJ.  It may be a good opportunity to meet up, and who wouldn’t want to be in the presence of Mr. Gunn???

http://www.facebook.com/#!/events/404917699565246/

http://www.book-ends.com/

 

Contact me here or at shelley57 at Yahoo if you’re interested, and feel free to pass the word around to anyone who might be so inclined to make it work.  I realize this is short notice, but live a little!!

Also, I’m planning on attending Gertie’s book signing in NYC a week from today, the 15th, at The Sewing Studio on W 29th St. 

 

Image

 

http://www.blogforbettersewing.com/2012/09/please-come-to-my-book-launch-party.html

 

And I’m sure you all know this, but just as a pesky reminder–Even if you can’t come to the party Gertie is doing this amazing kerchief drive for Pets Alive, a no-kill shelter in New York state.  If you have time and scraps and want to make something cute for a sweet pup, consider this:

 

http://www.blogforbettersewing.com/2012/08/tutorial-make-kerchief-for-shelter-dog_20.html

 

Tutorials and necessary shelter contact information, as well as information on how to donate, are all on the page.

You can make an Adopt Me kerchief using iron-on transfers, or a simple festive fun print kerchief for the dogs to wear to their new home.  I swear to God I cry everytime I read about when she and her honey adopted their shelter dog and they dressed him up in his new kerchief for a family portrait. 

Just a tip in case you’re thinking about it, I went to Staples to buy the transfers yesterday, and they have both 8.5×11 AND 4×6 transfers.  The 4×6 may be slightly more practical for the kerchiefs.  I’ll keep you updated as I fight with my printer and see how it all works.  Gertie includes a PDF template on her page, but you can also make a template for the 4×6 fairly easily through the Avery website.  If you’re at all interested in my 4×6 idea, let me know and I’ll pass along my template if I am successful. 

Whew, this was a longer post than I had planned.  Take care everyone, and maybe I’ll be seeing you soon. 

Shelley

 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

