SO Dolly Clackett

Standard

How many times have we swooned over Roisin‘s dreamy dresses? Luckily, SOMEONE (namely Sarah of Rhinestones and Telephones) decided it’s time for the blogoddesses to channel their inner Dolly Clackett and frockify ourselves accordingly. It’s also a celebration of Roisin’s upcoming nuptials next month, but somehow I think anyone reading this post is aware of that happy fact.

Fortunately, I already had the perfect pattern/fabric marriage of my own picked out. The fabric is a slightly stretchy and substantial cotton from my first trip to Mood last March during a major sewista meetup, and the pattern has been made by our muse once or twice or more.
IMG_7401

As luck and sloth would have it, I never made the thing, so the combo was still waiting for me when Roisin Fest was announced. It was so meant to be.

When I opened the pattern, I was seriously stoked. FOUR PIECES (if you don’t make the bow). That’s music to my lazy sewist ears. There are actually more pieces to cut when you include the lining, but to know you only have to fiddle with four pieces… I was crying with happiness already. I cut somewhere between a 20 and 22, fudged a bit of an FBA, and loved how the muslin turned out. So did David Hasselhoff, as it happens.

Photo Apr 08, 11 04 23 AM
Hasselhoff appearance courtesy of Google+ and their brilliant April Fool’s Day joke of Hoffsome-ing our photos.

Was happy enough with the muslin to go ahead and cut into the Precious, and was a super good girl and pressed when appropriate, was careful sewing the darts, etc. etc. I forgot how much I love a lined bodice. Looks so sharp.

The only thing I don’t absolutely adore about this print is that the Eiffel Towers are upside down in relationship to the rest of the repeat. However, inverted Eiffel bewbs are amusing.

DSC_1254 - Copy

I had a finished product just in time to go to an event at my friend’s store in Asbury Park, Backward Glances (where I also got the accessories for my shift), which happens to sell retro clothes and accessories. She has petticoats in varying lengths and had a perfect one in pink. LOVE.

Photo Apr 06, 2 06 40 AM

Spring finally happened in New Jersey, so it’s proper photo shoot time.

DSC_1261

DSC_1292

DSC_1247

DSC_1269

DSC_1291

DSC_1297

It’s been an absolute pleasure to check out everyone’s work in the Sew Dolly Clackett Flickr group. Wowza!! If by chance you haven’t visited lately, go immediately.

Thank you, Sarah, and congratulations to Roisin and Nic!

Yours in twirly girliness,
Shelley

18 responses »

  1. Love, love, love it!!!! I love the print, the colour of the background and the dress. You look amazing in this dress!!!!

  2. This is a fantastic dress. I just found your blog (follow you on insta) you are quite inspiring to me. Keep up the great sewing! g

  3. Oh, what a hoot, having the legendary Hasselhoff photo bomb your shot! Too funny! Any-hoo…your dress is pure Dolly Clackett loveliness! The print especially steals the show! Okay, I’m totally loving the scoop back. Pretty!!!

    {lovely daffodils too!}

  4. Pingback: Crafternoon Nap

Leave a Reply

