I made a Vogue 1250! And other palate cleansers

Standard

After realizing during Me-Made-May’13 that I sort of have enough clothes (how annoyingly practical of me), not to mention having been given a huge pile of castoffs from a dear friend while on my Ohio road trip, I’m pretty set wardrobewise. Doesn’t mean I’m quitting sewing or that my imaginary queue isn’t ridiculous, but I simply haven’t been motivated to crank stuff out unless it’s easy or I’m just drooling over a fabric or pattern. At some point perhaps I’ll have an epiphany and want to improve my skills and/or actually participate in the Craftsy classes I keep purchasing, but for now something has to really grab me.

Enter Vogue 1250, which seems to have conquered the sewing world a few years back. It really is the whole package–gorgeous, easy, and flattering. Yay! Came together in one evening, and that was totally taking my time and fiddling endlessly with steps that an experienced sewist wouldn’t blink at. I made it out of an “onion skin” knit from Fabric.com, from the same sale as the fabric used in last post’s Vogue 8685. Such a cool material, not as frighteningly immodestly sheer as it may initially look. It felt refreshing on a disgusting, stifling wait for the subway in New York.

20130901-151426.jpg
Sweaty subterranean me.

Did I mention it’s flattering? I am nowhere near fighting weight, nor am I trying to be (going through some hedonistic early-40s eating frenzy), but I felt kinda seksi in this thing.

20130901-153016.jpg

Here is a more recent shot, from a cruise on the Seine with one of my besties. LOVE the crew on our boat, the MS Bizet.

DSC06221

While I’m talking about easy knits to make you cute and happy, I highly recommend McCalls 6559, which, along with the “perfect knit dress” McCalls 5974, YOU SHOULD JUST HAVE ALREADY. I’m so glad that I finally stopped resisting the maxi dress thing, because this is mega fun and comfortable. I made it in May, but didn’t get around to wearing it until June 1, so it just missed my Me-Made-May Flickr extravaganza. The fabric is a thin jersey knit, and it has served me well this year–the beach, Block Island, Newport Jazz Festival, even boring old work.

Here is Dress At Work, taken while helping my guy set up scaffolding for a sound gig. Fun fun.

20130920-142007.jpg

And here I am at the Pacific Ocean for the first time in 30 years, on a trip to one of my new favorite places, San Francisco.

1007131040b

And exploring wine country, at the beautiful Artesa Vineyards

DSC_0294

While I’m raving about easy knit dresses with a maximum of three pieces, here’s another fun one, McCalls 6240, heretofore known as the Spider-Man Kiss Dress because I managed to cut the pieces with the print upside down. Only I could eff up a three piece dress. Anyway, you’ve all no doubt been commissioned/cajoled/whined at to make someone a dress. I just go “Okay” and promptly ignore them. But for some reason the two times I’ve worn this dress I’ve been downright ordered to make it for friends, even down to the color and fabric they want. These bitches were adamant. It’s just that fun and frivolous. Who knew that a one-armed dress would cause such excitement?

Finally got a few pics of it, at my boyfriend’s gig at our wonderful local joint the other night. I absolutely love it with the Bah Humbug hat and those hot green tights. :) It definitely passed the dancing test too. Beyond dreamy and flowy.

20131223-122135.jpg

20131223-122218.jpg

I should end on that holiday theme, but I have to throw one more in here. The Famous Lady Skater dress from Kitschycoo (http://kitschycoo.bigcartel.com/product/the-lady-skater-sewing-pattern-for-teens-and-women). Just too many of you were making gorgeous versions of it, so I impulsively ordered it online one day at work, printed it as soon as I got home, and whipped that puppy up that evening. Just adore the thing. Great for traveling. My pics are crummy so far, but here are a few. If by chance you haven’t been caught in the trance of this thing, please reconsider.

ladyskater

1006131904

So I guess for someone who doesn’t ‘need’ new clothes, I’m not doing too badly. ;)

Anyone else have tried-and-true palate cleanser for those bumpy uninspired times?

Have very happy holidays everyone! Speaking of holidays and the end of 2013, I’m really enjoying everyone’s Top and Bottom 5′s. Love you gals and your endless creativity!!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

7 responses »

    • Definitely look into it–and don’t just take it from me. There are jillions of beautiful versions out there. Amazing how it seems to bring out the best in everyone. Enjoy and Happy 2014!!

  1. Pingback: Sewingalong in 2014 | Cuckoo Chanel

Leave a Reply

