See You In September

Standard

(Same post released the other day, but with a more accurate date and a few corrections. Thanks for your patience.)

Since it’s the end of August, I thought I’d do a timely post and write about … Me-Made-May. It was fun as always, but I think I overdid it and Flickr-ed myself out. Somewhere between MMM and this gorgeous summer I ended up taking a blog sabbatical, which frankly is a good thing sometimes. Now I’m almost ready to line up the sewing queue and blog and comment again.

This draft of a few previously unblogged MMM items has been sitting around forever, so I’m going to finally finish and release it!!

Day 2

20130517-174246.jpg

I made this Vogue 8685 shortly after my second Jungle January creation, in something called onion skin knit from Fabric.com, but as it was yet another long-sleeved knit dress in vaguely the same color scheme, I didn’t feel it was notable enough to blog about. However, it does get a ton of compliments, I guess due to the interesting geometric print. Kind of like in karaoke you get cheers for a popular song even if you’re not that great of a singer. This is my ‘Don’t Stop Believin’ dress.

Day 5. Cinco de Mustache
I’m almost annoyed by how well this fits, because I have no earthly reason to wear this anywhere but a Mustache party, which fortunately Lenny’s nieces and nephews throw every May. Since it was my fourth Macaron, it was an easy project. I didn’t even put in the side zip. I just tuck my boobs under the waistband and it all sorts itself out.

20130517-172918.jpg

I am ecstatic to have made my first bias tape, totally by hand. No measuring, no tools, nothin’. Just eyeballed it. I couldn’t find my little bias tape thing that I bought from Joann’s, but now I’m glad because I think it would have been more complicated than just winging it. I LOVE making my own bias tape, and how totally pro it looks.

20130517-172613.jpg

20130517-173123.jpg
I did win the best outfit prize at the party, so it was well worth the effort.

Day 9. The Disco Dress
Aka the Hot Mess Dress because there’s just a lot going on. It’s a Simplicity 2369, a really easy knit pattern that also includes a top option and some easy elastic waist pants. I whipped up a quick pair of the pants last year, but there’s too much dromedary appendage action going on so I’ll have to pair that with a seriously long tunic or sweater. ANYway, I adore this print and have worn the dress in public quite a bit, even to Gertie’s book-signing party last September, but I wish I had put it together with more care. I started stitching the eBay-found polyester knit with my older Husqvarna Lena that I had just bought (on eBay too!) without getting used to the machine or adjusting the tension settings much, or even switching to a ballpoint needle. I was in too big of a hurry to play with the machine and so excited to have a project for this fab fabric, so I’ll just chalk it up to my typical impatience. I’ll just post the one photo of it without incriminating close-ups of wonky stitching, and pretend that it’s awesome.20130718-165913.jpg
Classy bathroom selfie, at your service.

That’s it for now. Tales of selfless summer stitching to come soon, and hopefully a completed Sew Bossy dress. I have the best employee ever, by the way, and I am by far the worst. You MUST see Anne if by chance you live under a blog rock and somehow missed her gorgeousness.

Have a great Labor Day weekend, fellow ‘Muricans, and soak up some sun and fun. I’ll leave you with an Instagram photo of the view I’m blessed with every day that I’m motivated enough to get into work early and buzz down the shore. Love that NYC backdrop.

20130827-161835.jpg

13 responses »

    • It’s totally easy. I just made another dress in the same-ish material (different print), and both were equally squeasy. All the stretchyness and forgiveness of knit, but not fiddly to work with at all. Plus it’s not as heavy as jersey can sometimes be.

  1. Glad you are back. I love the geometric print – I can see why you get so many compliments.
    I love making bias binding too. I didn’t know you could get a binding maker – what does it do?

Leave a Reply

